Dizzy With Anticipation

As a prospective English major, I expect myself to be offended by these blasphemous re-writes. However, I was born with a sense of humor, and cannot find anything about Ben H. Winter’s quirky novels that I hate. Yes, maybe it would be better to read the original first, but after the delight that ensued while reading Pride & Prejudice & Zombies, I can only assume that Android Karenina will be nothing but fun. I can’t be mad at someone who makes me laugh so hard-the only hard feelings that I harbor stem from the fact that I didn’t think of it first. Summer reading material, for sure. I mean, I’m assuming that Tolstoy is rolling in his grave right now, but this isn’t the worst that could be done with his works. Humans are savage idiots, and I think that Winters’ work is mockery in it’s highest form. He pokes fun with class, and if these revisions are to be done in a fun way, it should at least be done with class. Kudos, Ben H. Winters, for a job well done. Everyone’s going to be a critic, but in my eyes, you are an innovative thinker with a knack for humor and some real guts. It takes a lot to publish books like these.

Leave a comment